Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+
fond-bandeau-top_cartouche-EN3
Since 2009, Mercator Ocean has significantly contributed to the leadership of European operational oceanography, especially in the context of the Copernicus programme.

COPERNICUS is the European Earth observation and monitoring programme (formerly called GMES/Global Monitoring for Environment and Security). This is one of the two major European programmes along with GALILEO.

It aims to:

  • give the European Union autonomous and operational capability in space-based observation facilities (see the Sentinel missions) and in situ (measurements in the atmosphere, in the ocean and on the ground),
  • operate six interlinked environmental monitoring services for the oceans, the atmosphere, territorial development, emergency situations, security and climate change.
copernicus-thematics
ipad_bas

Click on the above picture to access the CMEMS portal

In order to prepare a reliable and operational European ocean-monitoring service (the future “Copernicus Marine Service”), the European Commission has co-financed since 2009 the European MyOcean projects, managed by Mercator Ocean, which brings together 60 partners spread over 28 countries.

On 11 November 2014, the European Commission signed an agreement with Mercator Ocean, that entrusts the latter with the setting-up of the future Copernicus Marine Service as of April 2015. The purpose of this service is to provide open and free access to qualified, regular scientific information on the physical and biogeochemical state of all the Earth’s oceans, on and below the surface, including temperature, currents, salinity, sea height, sea ice, water colour, chlorophyll content, etc.

After 6 years of work and with almost 5000 subscribers, the MyOcean pilot phase now provides a qualified, pre-operational service. Now that the feasibility of the service has been demonstrated, the service will become operational.

The catalogue of the service’s ocean products encompasses products derived from satellite and in situ observation, forecasts and analysis in real time, and time series stretching several tens of years into the past (reanalysis).

The service is intended for many uses, whether commercial or scientific in nature, for public service missions or simply for citizens wishing to know more about the state of their oceans. For example: the policies and regulations of the European Union such as the framework directive entitled “strategy for the marine environment”, the fight against marine pollution, the protection of biodiversity, safety at sea and maritime routing, the sustainable exploitation of the coastal environment and marine resources, marine energy, climate monitoring and predicting hurricanes.

The delegation contract of the European Commission is for an amount of € 144 million between 2014 and 2021.

Access current calls for tender

Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+
fond-bandeau-top_cartouche2

Chef de file des projets MyOcean depuis 2009, Mercator Océan a contribué de façon significative au leadership de l’océanographie opérationnelle en Europe, notamment dans le cadre du programme Copernicus.

Copernicus est le programme européen d’observation et de surveillance de la Terre (anciennement appelé GMES/ Global Monitoring for Environment and Security). C’est un des deux programmes européens majeurs aux côtés de GALILEO.

Il a pour ambition :

  • de donner à l’Union Européenne une capacité autonome et opérationnelle en matière d’infrastructures d’observation spatiale (cf : les missions Sentinel ) et InSitu (mesures dans l’atmosphère, dans l’océan et au sol)
  • d’opérer six services de surveillance environnementaux liés : aux océans, à l’atmosphère, aux territoires, aux situations d’urgence, à la sécurité et au changement climatique.
copernicus-thematics

Crédit photo : Commission européenne

ipad_bas

Cliquez sur l’image pour accéder au portail CMEMS.

Afin de préparer un service européen de surveillance des océans  fiable et opérationnel (le futur « Copernicus Marine Service), la commission européenne a cofinancé depuis 2009 les projets européens MyOcean, pilotés par Mercator Océan, qui rassemblaient 60 partenaires répartis sur 28 pays.

Après 6 ans de travail et près de 5000 abonnés, l’étape projet MyOcean a fournit un service pré-opérationnel qualifié. La démonstration effectuée, le projet a donc laissé la place à un service opérationnel.

Le 11 novembre 2014, la Commission européenne a signé avec Mercator Océan un accord qui lui confie la mise en place du futur Copernicus Marine Environment Monitoring Service (CMEMS) à compter d’avril 2015. Ce service a pour mission de fournir un accès libre et gratuit à une information scientifiquement qualifiée et régulière sur l’état physique et biogéochimique de tous les océans du globe, en surface comme en profondeur : température, courants, salinité, hauteur de mer, glace de mer, couleur de l’eau, chlorophylle….

Le catalogue de produits océaniques du service englobe des produits dérivés d’observation spatiale et in situ, des prévisions et analyses en temps réel, et des séries temporelles sur plusieurs dizaines d’années dans le passé (réanalyses).

Ce service est destiné à de nombreux usages, qu’ils soient de nature commerciale, scientifique, pour des missions de service public ou tout simplement pour les citoyens curieux de l’état de leurs océans. On citera par exemple : les politiques et règlements de l’Union européenne comme la directive cadre « stratégie pour le milieu marin », la lutte contre la pollution marine, la protection de la biodiversité, la sécurité et le routage maritimes, l’exploitation durable de l’environnement côtier et des ressources marines, les énergies marines, la surveillance du climat, la prévision des cyclones…

Le Contrat de délégation de la Commission Européenne porte sur un montant de 144 Millions d’Euros entre 2014 et 2021.

Accédez aux appels d'offre en cours